25 January: Top 5 books that changed my life

Top 5 Tuesday was created by Shanah at Bionic Book Worm, but now it is hosted by Meeghan at Meeghan Reads.

January is all about new beginnings and what better to discuss than books that inspired me. I’ve had to give this list a lot of thought.

Night by Elie Wiesel

I read this book for my degree and it remains one of the best I have ever read. This autobiographical novel about Wiesel’s time in Auschwitz is harrowing and impactful in so few pages. The imagery has stayed with me for years.

How To Fail by Elizabeth Day

I struggle with the concept of failure and it impacts so much on my self esteem. I highlighted many passages in this book and it resonated with me so much and inspired me to view “failure” in a different light.

Notes on a Nervous Planet by Matt Haig

I listened to this audiobook and it was the first time I’d ever read anything about mental health. I listened to it at a time when I started to realise that I was suffering from anxiety and it opened my eyes to how common it is.

Homefire by Kamala Shamsie

I’ve always enjoyed reading but up until a few years ago I didn’t prioritise it as a hobby. This book changed that and inspired me to read and read and read!

It’s Not About The Burqa edited by Mariam Khan

Reading opens my eyes to other experiences and this collection of essays was no exception. It has inspired me to read more non-fiction about race and religion.

5 thoughts on “25 January: Top 5 books that changed my life

  1. Umm, firstly, apologies that this week’s topic was hard… not quite sure what past Meeghan was thinking!!
    Secondly, what an amazing list. I am adding How to Fail and It’s Not About the Burqa to my wishlist, so HUGE thank you for sharing!!
    Hope you had fun this week (and if not, there’s always next month) 💕

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment