Book Review: The Hiding Place by Simon Lelic

Synopsis

Four Friends. One Murder. A game they can’t escape.

‘It was only a game.’

Until a boy went missing.

‘No one was meant to get hurt.’

But a body has been found.

‘Just some innocent fun.’

Except one of them is a killer.

Ready or not, here I come.

It’s time to play hide and seek again.

 

A PULSE POUNDING DETECTIVE THRILLER: 20 years after a boy goes missing at boarding school, his body is found and his friends, now some of the most powerful people in the country, are the suspects – for fans of THE CHALK MAN and THE GUEST LIST.

About The Author

HE AUTHOR

Simon Lelic is the author of seven highly acclaimed thrillers: Rupture (winner of a Betty Trask Award and shortlisted for the John Creasey Debut Dagger), The Facility, The Child Who (longlisted for the CWA Gold Dagger and the CWA Ian Fleming Steel Dagger), The House, The Liar’s Room, The Search Party and The Hiding Place. He has also written The Haven series for younger readers, twice shortlisted for the CrimeFest awards.

My Thoughts

Firstly, I received a free copy of The Hiding Place with a request for an honest review.

This is my first book by Simon Lelic and it certainly won’t be my last! I’ve already bought The Search Party and borrowed The Liar’s Room from the library! So if that doesn’t sum up my feelings towards this book, I don’t know what will!

Over 2 decades ago, a troubled young man named Ben goes missing from his boarding school. Now his body has been found and it’s up to 2 detectives to find out what really happened to him.

The book was gripping from start to finish with multiple flashbacks to Ben’s experience at boarding school with his manipulative friends, and the present day as the detectives try to piece together what is happening. This structure was fantastic, easy to follow but complex and engrossing. The writing style was effortless and fluid making it incredibly difficult to put the book down!

I thought the characters were really well developed and I warmed to almost all of them – except the baddies of course! The fast paced ending and investment you feel in the fate of the characters makes the ending fraught, tense and oh so brilliant.

Fan on crime fiction? I would highly recommend The Hiding Place!

One thought on “Book Review: The Hiding Place by Simon Lelic

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s