26 April: Top 5 books about a death

Top 5 Tuesday was created by Shanah at Bionic Book Worm, but now it is hosted by Meeghan at Meeghan Reads.

I have a bit of a reputation in my house for being a lover of some rather morbid books! I do think that death is actually a really important topic to discuss, despite it being quite scary. Anyway, on to some of my favourite books featuring death!

A Monster Calls by Patrick Ness

A Monster Calls is a children’s book with adult feelings. I cried my heart out at the book and the film. Simply stunning.

The Book Thief by Marcus Zusak

A book narrated by death taking place during a period in history where so many people were murdered? I read The Book Thief a very long time ago and adored it. I feel a re-read coming on…

Station Eleven by Emily St John Mandel

Station Eleven, set during a pandemic, opens with a death of an actor on stage. Despite all the deaths, this is certainly a book about art and life. This is one of my favourite books of all time.

Sarah’s Key by Tatiana de Rosnay

The events that unfold when Sarah is rounded up by the French police to be deported to the concentration camps in WWII affect her whole life. Given the topic, there is a very hard-hitting death and one which will stick with me for ages.

Unnatural Causes by Dr Richard Sheppard

And now for a bit of non fiction! This is a brilliant memoir about a forensic pathologist and is really insightful!

2 thoughts on “26 April: Top 5 books about a death

Leave a comment